At least 18 central banks are developing sovereign digital currencies


The list of central banks developing sovereign digital currencies or Central Bank Digital Currencies (CBDC), as they are more commonly known, continues to grow.

According to research from The Block, of the 60+ central banks analyzed, 18 have publicly acknowledged the development and or launch of their own CBDC. The most popular platform used by these central banks appears to be R3's Corda enterprise ledger. From our list, at least four countries/central banks have issued and launched their own digital currencies. The remaining 14 are either developing these currencies or launching pilot programs with third-party blockchain software providers. The Block did not include central banks that have announced they are thinking about issuing digital currencies or researching them.

Trending Stories

Get Your Crypto
Daily Brief

Delivered daily, straight to your inbox.